O Beloved,
Be Like That to Me
be23283: Saturday, May 20, 2017, 11:07:07 AM in From books

The flames that dance with love—
O Beloved, be like that to me.
The burning heat within the fire—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

My candle burns with longing.
It cries with tears of wax.
Like the wick of a melting candle—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

Now that we’ve joined the path of love
we cannot sleep at night.
At the drunken tavern, the drummer beats the drum—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

The night is dark, the lovers are awake.
Don’t bother them with thoughts of sleep.
They want only to be here with us—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

Union is a raging river running toward the sea.
Tonight the moon kisses the stars,
Majnun becomes Layla—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

God has become everything.
He has graced this poet with kindness.
Everything I touch and see becomes the fire of love—
O Beloved, be like that to me


The day your love touches me
I’ll become so mad that lunatics will run away.


The words of a master-poet could never capture
the spell that your eyelashes cast upon my heart.



Please note:
These lines are copied from:
Rumi - In the Arms of the Beloved
Translations by Jonathan Star
Page: 26-27

More blogs
549122: Monday, January 28, 2019, 01:21:18 AM in Audio
5e118f0: Sunday, December 09, 2018, 04:19:11 PM in खोज्दै जाँदा
6c1574b: Wednesday, December 05, 2018, 10:56:02 AM in Audio
37152a7: Sunday, December 02, 2018, 10:12:45 PM in खोज्दै जाँदा
82162aa: Sunday, November 11, 2018, 06:42:58 AM in Audio
7a27261: Saturday, November 25, 2017, 09:11:29 PM in From books
b2306eb: Saturday, November 25, 2017, 12:46:42 PM in Audio
ed309de: Thursday, November 23, 2017, 05:37:31 PM in From books
92280c8: Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 12:16:45 AM in मेरो स्तम्व
5b50169: Sunday, October 08, 2017, 04:59:02 PM in मेरो स्तम्व