O Beloved,
Be Like That to Me
7f6139: Saturday, May 20, 2017, 11:07:07 AM in From books

The flames that dance with love—
O Beloved, be like that to me.
The burning heat within the fire—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

My candle burns with longing.
It cries with tears of wax.
Like the wick of a melting candle—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

Now that we’ve joined the path of love
we cannot sleep at night.
At the drunken tavern, the drummer beats the drum—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

The night is dark, the lovers are awake.
Don’t bother them with thoughts of sleep.
They want only to be here with us—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

Union is a raging river running toward the sea.
Tonight the moon kisses the stars,
Majnun becomes Layla—
O Beloved, be like that to me.

God has become everything.
He has graced this poet with kindness.
Everything I touch and see becomes the fire of love—
O Beloved, be like that to me


The day your love touches me
I’ll become so mad that lunatics will run away.


The words of a master-poet could never capture
the spell that your eyelashes cast upon my heart.



Please note:
These lines are copied from:
Rumi - In the Arms of the Beloved
Translations by Jonathan Star
Page: 26-27

More blogs
9820f1: Friday, October 06, 2017, 12:27:55 PM in मेरो स्तम्व
aa14b3: Wednesday, October 04, 2017, 09:18:46 PM in मेरो स्तम्व
6747c6: Sunday, October 01, 2017, 12:08:40 PM in Pictures
18332b: Friday, September 08, 2017, 11:44:31 AM in मेरो स्तम्व
d64045: Sunday, August 06, 2017, 01:49:43 AM in From books
633264: Saturday, August 05, 2017, 11:51:48 AM in Audio
d946d4: Wednesday, July 19, 2017, 10:00:40 PM in मेरो स्तम्व
9a5211: Tuesday, July 04, 2017, 10:57:26 PM in From books
c050c7: Wednesday, June 28, 2017, 09:16:16 PM in Audio